Crémant du Limoux

‘‘ Crémant de Limoux is the only sparkling wine from the Pays Cathare, Languedoc and South of France. ’’

An AOC in the heart of the Cathar country

In the middle of the Languedoc. The Crémant de Limoux has been officially recognised as an AOC since 21 August 1990. It is one of the five AOC classifications in the Limoux appellation*. The Crémant de Limoux sells approximately 5,8 million bottles per year.
* Blanquette de Limoux, Limoux méthode ancestrale, red and white Limoux

Consult the Specifications of Crémant de Limoux.

Between the Mediterranean and the Ocean

In the country of the Crémant de Limoux, at between 200 and 400 metres in altitude, the oceanic influences help to lead to a more temperate Mediterranean climate. The appellation enjoys good levels of sunlight and well distributed rainfall throughout the year. The soil comprises chalky clay and sandy clay.

The two main grape varieties are chardonnay and chenin

The Crémant de Limoux is made using two main grape varieties, chardonnay and chenin, in a maximum proportion of 90% of the grape varieties, chinin should represent at least 10% and at most 40%. The secondary varietals – mauzac and Pinot Noir – are limited to a combined proportion of 40%. The proportion of mauzac must not exceed 20%.

Flavours

Crémant de Limoux can be recognised by its pale robe with golden reflections, ultra fine bubbles, and its elegant effervescence. This is, above all, a brut which can be characterised by its nose of white flowers with subtle hints of spice and toasted bread. It should be consumed, ideally, within two years following purchase, at 6 °C to 7 °C, generally as an aperitif with small savoury snacks, or to accompany fish and white meat. Crémant de Limoux have a pale salmon colour and an aromatic bouquet of red fruits. They are ideal when served to accompany a meal.

Key figures (2018)

  • Total surface area of production : 823 ha
  • Production area : 41 villages
  • Number of producers : 15 mixers and 183 producers
  • Annual production : 40,811 hl
  • Sales : 44 % exports
  • Number of bottles sold : 5.8 million per year

The longest carnival in the world

The Limoux carnival is an integral part of the history of the town. It dates back as far as the 16th Century and is one of the most well renowned carnivals, alongside those in Venice and Rio de Janeiro. It takes place between January and March and lasts for a total of ten weeks. Each Saturday and Sunday, “bands” roll through the streets of the town to the sound of music, making Limoux the longest carnival in the world.
Event of note: “Toques et clochers” food festival during the weekend of Palm Sunday; “Vignes et terroir en fête à Limoux” [Limoux Wine Festival] in August.

Find out more

Syndicat du Cru Limoux
Marlène Tisseire, directrice
11300 Limoux
Tél. : + 33 (0)4 68 31 12 83
E-mail : m.tisseire@limoux-aoc.com
www.limoux-aoc.com

Discover the Manufacturers and Mixers of the 8 Regions of France

Discover the Manufacturers and Mixers of the 8 Regions of France

Click on the icons of the map to discover the different regions

Crémant du Limoux

‘‘ Le Crémant de Limoux est l’unique bulle AOC du Pays Cathare, Languedoc et Sud de France. ’’

Une AOC en plein pays cathare

Niché au coeur du Languedoc, le Crémant de Limoux est officiellement reconnu AOC depuis le 21 août 1990. Il fait partie des cinq AOC de l’appellation Limoux*. Le Crémant de Limoux commercialise environ 5 millions de cols par an.
* Blanquette de Limoux, Blanquette méthode ancestrale, Limoux blanc et Limoux rouge.

Consultez le Cahier des Charges du Crémant de Limoux.

Entre Méditerranée et Océan

Au pays du Crémant de Limoux, entre 200 et 400 mètres d’altitude, les entrées océaniques tempèrent les influences méditerranéennes. L’appellation bénéficie d’un bon ensoleillement et d’une pluviométrie bien répartie tout au long de l’année. Le sol est composé de terres argilo-calcaires et sablo-argileuses.

Deux cépages principaux : le chardonnay et le chenin

Le Crémant de Limoux se compose de deux cépages principaux, le chardonnay et le chenin, dans une proportion maximale de 90 % de l’encépagement, le chenin devant représenter entre 10 % et 40 % au maximum. Les cépages accessoires – mauzac et pinot noir – sont, ensemble, limités à 40 %. Le Mauzac seul ne doit pas dépasser 20 %.

Côté arômes

On reconnaît le Crémant de Limoux à sa robe pâle rehaussée de reflets dorés, à ses bulles très fines, à son effervescence visiblement teintée d’élégance. C’est avant tout un brut qui se distingue par un nez de fleurs blanches associé à de subtiles notes parfumées d’agrumes et de pain grillé. À déguster de préférence dans les deux ans qui suivent son acquisition, à 6 °C ou 7 °C, généralement à l’apéritif sur de petits toasts salés, mais aussi pour accompagner de manière originale poissons et viandes blanches. Les Crémants de Limoux rosés présentent des robes saumonées pâles et un bouquet aromatique sur des notes de fruits rouges. Ils peuvent accompagner favorablement tout un repas.

Chiffres clés (2017)

  • Superficie en production : 845 hectares
  • Aire de production : 41 communes
  • Nombre de producteurs : 240 producteurs et 20 metteurs en marché
  • Production annuelle : 41000 hectolitres
  • Ventes : 52 % sur le marché français et 48 % à l’export
  • Nombre de cols vendus : 5,4 millions par an

Le plus long carnaval du monde

Le carnaval de Limoux fait partie de l’histoire de la ville. Il date du XVIe siècle et constitue l’un des carnavals les plus réputés, avec ceux de Venise et de Rio de Janeiro. Il a lieu entre janvier et mars et dure dix semaines. Chaque samedi et dimanche, les « bandes » se succèdent au son de la musique dans les rues de la ville, faisant de Limoux le plus long carnaval du monde.
À savoir : fête gastronomique « Toques et clochers » lors du week-end des Rameaux ; « Vignes et terroir en fête à Limoux » en août.

En savoir plus

Syndicat du Cru Limoux
Marlène Tisseire, directrice
11300 Limoux
Tél. : + 33 (0)4 68 31 12 83
E-mail : m.tisseire@limoux-aoc.com
www.limoux-aoc.com

Découvrez les Producteurs et Élaborateurs
des 8 Régions de la France

Cliquer sur les icônes de la carte pour découvrir les différentes régions